Upon downloading a bunch of Nintendo NES roms, I came across a little rpg (role playing game) called The Adventures of Musashi.  It appears to be a Japanese rpg that was translated over to English.

So let me start you off with the introduction, word for word.

“So the story starts, about a boy from Arima Village who was skilled with the sword.  His name was Musashi.  Son of the legendary swordsman Miyamota Musashi.  His dream is to be a great swordsman like his father.  One day he hears an ominous rumor.  The ghost of Kojiro, nemesis to his father has risen,calling monsters from Hell to terrorize the people.  So Musashi sets out with dreams…

I will defeat Kojira and maybe even get laid (yes that is in there)”

So if this is any indication of things to come.  I am in this to the very end.  Starting out I am in the village and playing as Musashi.  The first person I talk to says ” I’ll be lonely without you”.  Who this is and why I care, I do not know.  The second person I talk to says “be careful” and “KISS”.  So right away, this Musashi character is a pimp.  Wonder what else people have to say…

“Train hard to defeat the ghost of Kojiro, when you return you can marry Otsu like you promised”

“Don’t forget to equip your weapons”

“It is said Torii Shinto Gates have a magical secret.  Is it true?”

“Be careful in the poison Swamp”

That’s just a handful of conversations I had with the random villagers in Arima village.  All in all, I’m fairly confused and already promising to marry random Arima skanks.

My first impression of this game is that it’s an average rpg with heavy Japanese influence.  Whether this was actually released on NES here or Japan is unknown to me atleast.  The graphics seem decent, the sound is tolerable.  The only complaint I have so far is that the building’s signs are in Japanese.  So I have no clue what building is what.

Anyway, my quest will continue.  I will defeat the ghost of Kojiro and avenge my father (and maybe even get laid).  In my next post, we’ll take a closer look at the “creatures of Hell”, which so far consists of Cones.  Yes Cones.

