This past weekend my father took me out to eat to celebrate my graduation.  We went to The Oceanaire, which is this super-swanky restaurant in Indy.  You know a place is fancy when they break out the crumb scrapers.  And since he was paying, well…I lived it up.

The restaurant is modeled after what I would imagine to be a  1920's ocean liner/yacht. They've got some pretty nice big band music constantly playing in the background, as well.  And the restrooms! They have everything one could possibly need, including mouthwash (which I had to use just for the simple fact that it was there).  This is the kind of restaurant that has real, plush towels in the restroom.  But on to other aspects of the place…

The waitstaff all called me by name, and had signed a card for me which was on the table.  I didn't notice until after I had ordered, but they also printed out special menus that looked just like the regular ones, but had "Congratulations, Hayley" printed on the top.  And what did I order, you might ask?  Or maybe you're not asking, but I'm going to tell you anyway (I don't have the menu in front of me at the moment, so this will rely on my questionable memory).

Wine: A pinot noir.  I don't remember exactly what it was, but it was $17 a glass and delicious.

Appetizer: Escargot en Croute. I quite like escargot, and it has been 8 years since I've had any, so I was all about it.

Salad: The Good Life – mixed greens, balsamic, pine nuts, Roquefort, cherry tomatoes, glazed walnuts, and strawberries.  I don't know what made it so good, but it was the best salad I've ever had in my entire life.

Main Course: Ecuadorean Mahi Mahi Black and Bleu – Blackened Mahi Mahi with bleu cheese and carmelized onions.

Dessert: I ordered a chocolate mousse, not realizing that because it was a special occasion, they give you a Baked Alaska for free.  So we all shared a Baked Alaska and I took home the mousse for another time.  As an aside, isn't food always better when they catch it on fire first? It's such a little thing, but it amuses me to no end, every single time.

And so came the end of my fantastic meal. I'll definitely have to go back there sometime perhaps once I get a full-time job.  And the manager said they had been scoping out locations in Chicago, so that is good news, indeed.

