It's time for what has become my weekly blog post. I looked over my most recent blog posts and realized that 90% of them (I'm making up that number) are concerned with things I have bought or want to buy. Which segues nicely into one of the topics for this post, which is,

Things I am giving up or at least thought about giving up for Lent.

  1. Buying clothes, shoes, and books.  This is going to be crazy difficult for me.  I've already been tempted multiple times, and I'm only a week in.  I can do it, though.
  2. Not eating meat.  This one I've already messed up a few times, but that's because there's nothing to eat at my house that doesn't have meat mixed in with it.  If I lived alone/when I live alone it would/will be different.
  3. I briefly entertained the idea of doing a sort of "40 Days and Nights" type of thing, but then I realized that I don't really want to limit myself in that way.

So at least I've got one thing there that I'm sticking to, and frankly it will probably be the most difficult for me.  Not that I'm terribly religious, but I do think it's important every now and then to sort of purge the vice from one's life (though there are a number of other vices I'm not even touching with this).

In other news, I've been to the gym for three. days. in. a. row.  It won't last too long though, as I have to fill in for my boss for the next two days, and therefore have to be at work at an hour no human being should be awake.  And anyway I'm only going to the gym because I now have a friend to motivate me, and she's kicking my ass.

Also?  Got tickets in the mail to see one of my favorite bands, Travis, in Chicago on April 18th.  They've been my favs for at least 10 years, and this is the first time I've been able to see them.  So excited.

The question this week, dear reader, is this:  Are there any bands you would absolutely love to see?  Or any concerts you've been to that were magical?  If so, I'd love to hear about it–I'm always looking for good shows to watch!

P.S. Submitted third post-grad resume and cover letter today, this one to Northwestern Uni.  67 days until graduation!

