I am a lazy, lazy person.  Sorry I can't give you any better excuse.  School is out for the semester, and there's nothing going on at work, so my brain is also on vacation.  Literally, as I have been in such a fog for the most part lately that I forget what I went into the other room for.  Winter blues, indeed.

Not sure if I mentioned this in my last blog, but my car door handle on the driver's side has broken again.  I ordered a new one on Ebay, and there was an attempt to fix it by my father and grandfather yesterday.  All that they managed to do was screw it up more– now, instead of only being able to open that door from the inside, I can't open the door at all.  I'm wondering how in the world it will get fixed, but I suspect it will cost a lot of money and will involve prying the door open or taking it apart completely.  Am not pleased.

In other news, I went out with a college friend on Saturday night for a surprise (which I guessed ahead of time).  B and I went first to a fabulous Greek restaurant called Santorini.  There was the obligatory belly dancer and large flaming trays of food at which everyone was supposed to say, "Opa!"  Nice little atmosphere, but the food itself was to-die-for.  We just split a tray of hummus and a gyro…and though that doesn't sound like much, you should realized that each plate is the size of a regular waiter's tray.  The gyro also had green beans, rice, and the best potatoes I have ever had as sides (and that's really saying something, because I LOVE potatoes).  I also had a delicious Greek white wine that was really dry (my favorite) called…well, I can't remember what it was called, actually.  I think it began with an N…natrious or something like that maybe?  Meh, oh well.

During this dinner, I actually ate the tomatoes that were included and, surprise!, I didn't mind them at all.  I've been trying to become a less picky eater.  Maybe I didn't mind them because they were small slices with no real seeds.  At any rate, tomatoes are one of the ingredients in the famous Chicago-style hot dogs that I'm trying to learn to like (or at least stomach).  I generally like my hot dogs (when I eat them, which is rare) plain, or with ketchup.  But dear reader, you can NEVER order a hot dog with ketchup in Chicago.  I have heard it is because they don't want the taste of the beef to get covered up, but that cannot be the case, because here are all of the ingredients for one:  all beef hot dog on a poppy seed bun, mustard, onion, sweet pickle relish, dill pickle spear, tomato slices or wedges, pickled sport peppers, celery salt, and sometimes cucumbers.  If all of that doesn't cover up the taste of the actual hot dog, then nothing can, not even ketchup.

But alas, I am choosing to move to this city that obviously has selective reasoning and logic skills, and thus will never be able to order a hot dog the way I want it.  So, I am transitioning my taste buds for this change.  I really, REALLY don't like mustard or relish or pickles that aren't deep fried (or even onions), so this may take some serious committment.  But I've got the cucumbers and tomatoes and celery salt down (hmm, almost a Bloody Mary). 

Alternatively, I could just never eat a hot dog when I'm there.  Or get them plain.  I think ordering a plain hot dog would meet less protest than one with ketchup.

But back to the original storyline of this blog, B and I went to see Straight No Chaser after Santorini.  Straight No Chaser is an a cappella group formed at our alma mater, Indiana University.  The group still continues to thrive, with new members every year, but the original group just recently hit it big with a contract from Atlantic Records after a producer saw a video of them on YouTube. 

Here is a copy of the very video that got them noticed (it has since been removed from YouTube):

Straight No Chaser – 12 Days of Christmas

B and I used to go see every show they did when we were in school there.  The show Saturday night was good, but they didn't sing my favorite SNC song, Insomniac.  Very disappointed by that.  I was sure they'd sing it for the encore, but no.

As an aside and just so everyone who is reading this knows, it is 0 degrees Fahrenheit outside. ZERO.  And that's not even counting the wind chill.

And to finish this off in yet another horribly not-smooth way, how do you like your hot dogs (if you eat them, that is)?

