Kids, there was an earthquake this morning.  I was so excited.  You see, I am something of an amateur geologist (would have been a professional except I really don’t like math) and I have ALWAYS wanted to feel an earthquake.  I have some theories about them, plus I’ve got this idea in my head that I would like to be outside standing in the grass when one happens and see if I can keep standing.  Don’t ask; I can’t explain.  The last two times there has been one felt in Indiana, I just so happened to be in a different state where it was not felt.  I mean, what are the odds?  I rarely get to travel, and when I do, we get a quake.  Seems eerily opposite to the whole thing about how tornadoes follow me on vacation, but that’s another story for another time.

At approximately 5:37 this morning, I was awoken by the sound of everything in my room rattling.  My first thought was, ‘Oh, a really big farm truck is driving by…’ quickly followed by, ‘Wait, it’s shaking far too much for far too long to be a truck,’ and then, ‘YAY!! AN EARTHQUAKE!!’ But by the time I had jumped out of bed and into the hallway, it was over.  I knew from class it had to be moderately strong to have woken me up.  It was an especially good earthquake since it was definitely strong enough to feel, but didn’t cause any damage or injuries.  Yay for the earth!

Also, I couldn’t decide whether to name this post the above title, or "Good Vibrations." 

Aaaannnd since I haven’t posted in like, two weeks, you get a really long post about most everything else I’ve been doing as well.  Lucky you!  I will put it in list format because I am lazy.

  • Went to a Little 5 party in Bloomington on Friday.  The theme was "All Suited Up!" meaning one was to wear some sort of suit…business, casual, bathing, cat, mechanic, whatever.  I worked my way around this by wearing my bathing suit under my clothes, though there were a number of people looking quite snazzy in real suits, one girl in a suitcase, and a friend in a beaver suit.  Dear reader, I was there at the party for about 4 hours…and about 10 minutes after I arrived, so did the man in his birthday suit.  You heard right…NAKED.  I’ll admit I was shocked at first because…naked man?  Basically public?  At first I tried to look away quickly, then succeeded in spilling beer on my shirt as I tried to act normal.  It was special.  But eventually I grew accustomed to it, even though he was perilously close to me for the majority of the party.  It’s just important to remember not to walk with one’s hands ever going below the level of one’s waist.    Also, because I am apparently a magnet for people who desire to one day emigrate to Europe AND musicians, I was stuck talking to both types until my old roomate got there.  Was told flat out that I was really beautiful, and gorgeous, and why had they not noticed me before?  Well, I was deftly trying to avoid the crowd half of the time, hanging out in friends’ rooms, but still…It’s always nice to hear compliments.  Especially when they are being so blatant about it.  But then he’s all, "You don’t seem like you’re drunk like everyone else." "Mm, yeah, that’d be because I’m not."  But I’ll pretend he was just telling me I’m pretty for the hell of it, not to get into my pants.
  • The next morning, Kristin (old roomie) and I went a little further south to visit another friend, Joyce (another one of my old roomies).  We spent from 2pm to about 10:30pm in the FREEZING COLD by the river in Louisville, watching the aptly named Thunder Over Louisville.  Now for those who have never heard of it, it’s an air show and fireworks show that kicks off the Kentucky Derby Festival that runs for weeks before the actual Derby.  The airshow was scary and awesome; those aircraft did things I didn’t even think were possible.  But the fireworks were what I really came there for.  I had been once before, just for the fireworks.  They set them to music, then set them off on both bridges and on some barges.  Since we were seated between the bridges and I love love LOVE fireworks, it was amazing.
  • Then, Monday at the library, I came across The Secret, y’know that horrible book that Oprah and everyone and their mother is talking about?  I had read something similar (actually quite the same) called the Law of Attraction, but really thought it was all hokey.  The whole premise of the LOA/Secret is that whatever you think about, you attract.  So if you think bad, you get bad, and vice versa.  The problem with this is that if you think, "I don’t want to get cancer," you will get cancer, because you thought about it.  It doesn’t matter if you think you do or don’t want it; just thinking of it at all brings it.  And things come to you faster if you put actual emotion into your thoughts and believe that it will happen (though as a stipulation, you can’t think about how, where, or when).  Anywho, I thought I’d give it a go and see what happens.    Well….here’s what has happened so far:  I’ve gotten the exact parking spot I’ve wanted all week at work even though I never did before…I got the exact parking spot I wanted at school on Tuesday night, I saw a cardinal and bluejay yesterday when I decided I would.   Now, of course it could all be coincidence, but I’d rather it not be.  And when I think about it, it makes sense in that whenever I get worried about anything, stuff starts going badly.  Even in my last relationship, things didn’t start going bad until I started for no reason worrying about things going badly….it was like a light-switch.  But it’s really hard to think positively all the time, especially for the pessimist in me.  I’m trying though.  Really hard.  And the LOA/Secret says you can have anything and anyone you want, if you believe you can and think positively.  So let’s see.  I could be crazy.  But maybe not.

Anyway, that’s enough for now.  I’m sure something terribly exciting will happen soon like….I dunno.  Something.  I could manifest winning a trip to Paris.  Wouldn’t that be sweet?

