This terrifies me so.  Original story found here.

SANTIAGO (AFP) – An 81-year old man in the small Chilean village of Angol shocked his grieving relatives by waking up in his coffin at his own wake, local media said on Sunday.

When Feliberto Carrasco’s family members discovered his body limp and cold, they were convinced that the octogenarian’s hour had come, so they immediately called a funeral home, not a doctor.

Carrasco was dressed in his finest suit for the wake, and his relatives gathered to bid him a final farewell.

"I couldn’t believe it. I thought I must be mistaken, and I shut my eyes," Carrasco’s nephew Pedro told the daily Ultimas Noticias.

"When I opened them again, my uncle was looking at me. I started to cry and ran to get something to open up the coffin to get him out."

The man who "rose from the dead" said he was not in any pain, and only asked for a glass of water.

Local radio also surprised listeners by announcing a correction to Carrasco’s death announcement, saying the news had been premature.

I’ve got to admit, I’ve always had this irrational fear of being buried alive.  I know we embalm people in this country and whatnot, but it still worries me.  Recently I’ve taken to trying to talk my family into not embalming me.  They say it’s some sort of law, but I’ve heard of people who don’t get embalmed because of some religious reason, and why can’t I just say I’m that religion for the sake of the law?  That way, if I am really in some sort of deep, deep coma, they don’t take out my blood and kill me in the process.  I’ve thought many times how it would be best to be lain in an above-ground crypt of sorts, y’know, the kind with a pretty stained glass window.  That way, if I woke up, I could easily break out the window and get someone to let me out.  Another good idea?  One of those coffins, like Bateson’s Belfry, that had a little bell with a rope down to the "deceased."  If you wake up, ring the bell, they dig you up.  I wonder how often or if this was ever used during the 19th century when they were made.

*****************************************************************************************************************

Aside from my irrational fears, I had a first this past weekend.  Went to a dinner with a friend for her birthday, where an obviously homosexual man tried to convince me that, in fact, he was bisexual.  Thanks, but no. 

In other news, I apparently have a knack for falling for men who have a fatal inability to love me.  So that’s pretty awesome.  Not.

Also, I’ve decided that I do not want to be a school librarian.  Oh, no; I want to be a Reference Librarian.  It will be much more challenging and interesting, not to mention just plain cooler.  That, and after browsing the job site at the Library of Congress, I’ve decided I’m gonna work there for a couple of years out of school, just to pay off some student loans.  Six figure salary?  Okay, that’ll do just fine.

