This week, I finally decided to get out my syllabi and make out a schedule for my online classes.  Too late, I realized I am already way behind, though class only started a week ago.  I am convinced that out of the three online courses I am taking and four courses overall, two of the online instructors think that A) Their class is the only one I am taking and B) I do not work.  They are going to kill me.  Seriously, if I did all of the readings, checked out all of the links, and watched all of the videos they want me to watch, I would have 12 hours of straight schoolwork every day.  Blar. 

I have not even had time to go tell off the doctor that treated someone else under my name, though I’m hoping to do that tomorrow on my day off from work.  Btw, I think whoever it was got a negative on their test…not sure though, since I don’t know medical codes, but it named the test and then had a NEC under results, which I can only assume is negative?  Good for them, if so.  And good for them for apparently not having to pay for whatever else they went to the doc for.  But not so good for me.  Actually, I don’t think it’s so much a matter of some patient trying to steal my identity and scam the medical establishment, but rather incompetent people at the doctor’s office.  I’m looking for a new doc today.

Before all that jazz about , though, I had read some books–some books I wanted to share with you, dear reader.  Let’s start with Merde! and Merde Encore! Chock-full of French slang, idioms, and swear words, these books are indispensible when learning the language.  If you hear real French spoken outside of an academic setting, you will undoubtedly hear some of these words.  My only complaint with the books isn’t really about the books at all, but rather the language: There are so many ways to say almost everything, idiom-wise.  Seriously, I could probably study these two, thin little books for months and not remember everything in them.  While highly useful, I really think one would need to live, say, IN FRANCE, for the lessons and practical applications to set in.  Also recently read the similar Hide This French Book, but I’d have to say that those in the Merde series have a lot more information in them, and a greater variety as well.

Current read: The Art of Being a Woman.  Nearly finished, and I love it.  Of course it’s chick lit, but y’know, I’m a chick. This book explains ways one can really appreciate her womanhood by celebrating the differences between the sexes, to associating housecleaning with sex so that we will appreciate some "good clean fun" more often, to suggesting that the real reason we love to shop is because we enjoy the exchange of good manners.  Sure, some of it is a load of crap, but I feel better after having read it, nonetheless.  Favorite quote of the book: "Why do you love him? you wonder.  You love him because anyone whose presence makes you feel alive deserves your total devotion." (p. 148)  I’ve a feeling that this is going to be one of those books that I buy for all of my female friends when their birthday rolls around.

Next book up: Cicero: On Old Age, On Friendship, On Divination.  I have already read his writings On Old Age and loved them, so why not get a book of them?

FInally, here’s a video for all to enjoy.  From the man that brought us Wizard People, Dear Reader, comes a version of the George Washington myths that may be quite new to you.  Some bad language, so don’t play loudly where you don’t want it heard.

George Washington

Add to My Profile | More Videos

