This morning I woke up with a terribly sore throat.  It came without warning: I did not feel ill in the slightest last night, nor did I spend a good portion of yesterday belting out songs.  For the past couple of years, I haven’t gotten sick at all, except for sore throats, so I suppose I should be happy about that.  This sore throat, however, could not come at a worse time. *  I’ve got a date tomorrow night with the new guy, who henceforth shall be known as J.R. on account of the unusually high number of males in my life with the initial J.  Anywho, would not want to get him sick, so I’m self-medicating today by drinking copious amounts of Throat Coat tea. 

In addition, classes where I work are cancelled for the rest of the week, though the library is still open today and tomorrow.  This means I have to be here at 8 both mornings.  Such a strange time to be up, and even more strange when I go into work and there is no one there.  Hmpf.  Good thing I brought the crossword puzzle, and this afternoon I’ll get some relief from the ennui–I have to drive to my alma mater for a curriculum committee meeting.  Actually, the meeting is also boring, but it looks good on the resume and I enjoy the drive (when not on 465).

Reminder to self: tomorrow write about what you are thankful for.

*Actually, I suppose if I were going to perform an aria or something, that would be a worse time.  But I am not.

