I am at work.  It is Saturday morning.  There is something terribly wrong with this.  But at least it’s only once a month.

Went to see Bob Dylan last night.  Amos Lee and Elvis Costello opened up for him.  Had never really heard Amos Lee before, but turns out, I like him.  He ain’t pretty, but DAMN, that voice….so hot and gravelly (sp?).  And on to Costello….well, I wasn’t quite sure what songs I knew that he sang, and even after seeing him live, I can only point out one.  Don’t like his music very much.  However, I very much appreciated his strumming technique on the guitar.  Also, it was kinda neat how he played so furiously sometimes that you forgot there wasn’t a band behind him.  There was one song he did that dripped with sexual innuendo, a la old blues songs.  Loved that one.  Something about "it’s not very far from sofa to sugar cane."  Now onto Bob…

As always, he was great.  I say as always even though this is only the second time I’ve seen him.  Here’s the playlist for the night:

1. Leopard-Skin Pill-box Hat
2. It Aint Me Babe (really interesting version)
3. Not a clue what this song was…the tune wasn’t familiar and I couldn’t understand a single word.*UPDATE* Found out the song was Watching the River Flow
4. Love Sick
5. Rollin’ and Tumblin’
6. Spirit on the Water
7. High Water (for Charley Patton)
8. Working Man’s Blues #2 (LOVE this song)
9. Honest with Me
10. My Back Pages
11. Highway 61 Revisited
12. Ain’t Talkin’
13. Summer Days
14. Ballad of a Thin Man
ENCORE:
1. Thunder on the Mountain
2. Blowin’ in the Wind

Obviously it was Modern Times-heavy.  He really seemed to be in a good mood last night. Dancing around with the music, and there were even a couple of times where he just stopped playing and strutted around, garnering applause.  Cocky, but cool.  It was a good time, and I can’t wait to see him again.  I was sorta sad for my friend that he didn’t play "Like a Rolling Stone," since this was her first time seeing him.  But she was happy with the show she got 🙂

In other news, I am search result #3 on aol for hillbilly ancestry.  Hmm.

