Alright, here’s the promised post.

Last weekend I started it all off with a small show at an even smaller coffee shop in the worst possible area of our capitol city.  Great little place, bad location.  I went to see my good friend play with this chick with whom he had started a U.S. tour.  I say "had" started because he quit after that night due to the fact that her husband is a prick and also? Her tour manager.  The happy couple had gotten into a fight the night before where she had fired him and as a result, they had missed their gig the night before.  That’s really professional.

Which brings me to a rant–why would you ever have your significant other as a part of your band or management?  That is the worst idea I think I’ve ever heard.  If they were a musician as well, I could understand having them onstage once or twice.  But you never, EVER have them as a permanent fixture in your band or management.  That’s a disaster waiting to happen not only for them, but for the other poor folks in the band!

Anyways, back to the show, it was better than I thought it would be, but still not great.  The crowd was…to say the least….interesting.  I’ll leave it at that.

On Saturday I went to the pow-wow in town, which was fabulous.  I spent way too much money, but I am happy with my purchases.  I originally went looking for mocassins, but found a fantastic knife.  I had been looking for a good, multi-purpose knife like that for when I hike part of the Appalachian Trail.  Mission accomplished.

I also wanted to alert my readers to a music group I saw on Austin City Limits this weekend:  The Gourds.  They are a great mix of country, folk, Tex-Mex, and Cajun.  Simply delightful.  I am seriously thinking about buying a cd.  Give them a listen.

Also, cataloging class=sucktastic, aka: worst class ever.  Just so you know.

